“America: Zero”

The finished product from yesterday’s post:


To start: no, I’m not for burning flags. It’s merely an image. 

Nitty-gritties: though initially envisioned as 100% acrylic paints, I ended up using oil pastels for a lot of what you see in the foreground. I kicked around a few names before settling on “America: Zero”, but most felt a bit too on the nose. 

Also, I’m aware that an elephant Trump wielding a torch amidst a crowd of horrified onlookers doesn’t scream “subtlety” like I initially shot for. I just really let this one become its own thing and I’m happy with that. 

I may put it up for sale if I can get a high quality scan for a print, but I’m not certain. 

-Jeff 

Leave a Reply

